Forums SMF Slamboard AJ

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
  • #977


    In a brand new interview with JoeDaly.net, SYMPHONY X and ADRENALINE MOB singer Russell Allen spoke about the June 2013 departure of drummer Mike Portnoy (DREAM THEATER, THE WINERY DOGS) from ADRENALINE MOB and the addition of A.J. Pero (TWISTED SISTER).

    “The dynamic with [A.J.] is better in some ways… it’s all better, I’ve got to be honest,” Russell said.

    “A.J. is the kind of guy who you just love to be on tour with. Let’s put it this way, he’s been around forever, [and] he’s played bigger shows than anybody that’s ever been in our band.

    “TWISTED SISTER was a huge, huge act and they still play headlining festivals in Europe, so hundreds of thousands of people, still.

    “At the end of our shows, do you know what he’s doing? He’s helping the local crews load the trailer. That’s A.J. Pero. He’s that dude. He’s a crew guy. I have two guys in the band like that. There’s no rock star shit with him, he’s a man’s man, he’s a hard-working guy and I’ve got nothing but respect for him. He brings that sort of attitude on the road. So nothing really gets to him. Nothing gets him down that he’s such a rock in so many ways. He’s my enforcer — he makes it happen. I’ve learned a lot from him and he teaches me to be patient, which is not always easy in this life and especially in this business. He’s a tough son of a bitch. I wouldn’t mess with him, but he’s a sweetheart of a guy and we have a lot of laughs. All in all, he’s an amazing asset and amazing addition.”

    ADRENALINE MOB will release “Dearly Departed” through Century Media on February 9 in Europe (digital only) and February 10 in North America.

    In a departure from “Covertà”, “Dearly Departed” will feature, in addition to four cover tunes, a previously unreleased track from the sessions for ADRENALINE MOB’s second album, 2014’s “Men Of Honor”, three acoustic renditions of songs from both 2012’s debut, “Omertà”, and “Men Of Honor”, and an edited version of the “Men Of Honor” track “Dearly Departed”.

    Co-produced by Allen and guitarist Mike Orlando, “Dearly Departed” features the following tracks:

    01. Snortin’ Whiskey (PAT TRAVERS cover)
    02. Dearly Departed (edited version of “Men Of Honor” track)
    03. The Devil Went Down To Georgia (CHARLIE DANIELS BAND cover)
    04. Crystal Clear (acoustic version of “Men Of Honor” track)
    05. BLACK SABBATH Medley (BLACK SABBATH cover)
    06. Gets You Through The Night (unreleased track from “Men Of Honor” sessions)
    07. Angel Sky (acoustic version of Omerta track)
    08. All On The Line (acoustic version of Omerta track)
    09. Tie Your Mother Down (QUEEN cover)

    ADRENALINE MOB last August tapped Erik Leonhardt (TANTRIC) as its new bass player following the departure of John Moyer (DISTURBED).

    Moyer, who had been a member of DISTURBED since 2004, joined ADRENALINE MOB in February 2012 and appeared on the band’s “Covertà” EP (2013) and “Men Of Honor” album (2014).

    “Men Of Honor” sold around 3,600 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 99 on The Billboard 200 chart.

    Read more at http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/adrenaline-mobs-russell-allen-says-dynamic-with-new-drummer-a-j-pero-is-all-better/#PRIdwdIKlsY7DGyt.99

    Captain Howdy

    Great album! I love the last album with AJ on it. Definitely looking forward to the new EP!

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.